Анонсы журнала / Категория: 2012 год


Сентябрь




Available on the AppStore

Основные темы номера (сентябрь) журнала World Economic Journal:

МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЕ ОТНОШЕНИЯ
Большая сирийская игра, или все дело в газе

Три заблокированные Россией и Китаем резолюции в Совете Безопасности ООН, 17 пакетов санкций в отношении Дамаска, введенных ЕС, тысячи погибших. Никто не осмелится предположить, куда повернется сирийское противостояние.


Сколько стоит война

Более полутора лет противостояния, тысячи убитых и раненых... Сирия, равно как и многочисленные участники противостояния как внутри самой страны, так и за ее пределами, оказались в тупике, выход из которого не скоро будет найден.


ТЕНДЕНЦИИ
Впали в детство

Рынок детских товаров в быстрорастущих странах остается чуть ли ни единственным сегментом, практически не испытавшим влияния мирового экономического кризиса. В ближайшие несколько лет его объем может составить сотни миллиардов долларов.


ОБЩЕСТВО
Слабое звено

Экономический кризис способствует распространению нового вида гендерной дискриминации, при котором работодатели формально соблюдают все права, положенные женщинам, но фактически создают невыносимые условия работы для того, чтобы избавиться от «слабого пола».


ВОЗМОЖНОСТИ
Юань метит в доллары

Еще два-три года назад эксперты в один голос утверждали, что превращение китайской валюты в резервную – дело отдаленного будущего. Благодаря усилиям Пекина это будущее может наступить гораздо скорее, чем все думали.


ОПАСНОСТИ
В ожидании девятого вала

Российская экономика слаба, однако, по-прежнему вполне устойчива – серьезные кризисные явления в ней могут начаться только благодаря «шоку извне».


КОНТИНЕНТ
Банкам бросили спасательный круг

Новоизбранному испанскому правительству понадобилось полгода, чтобы принять очевидное и открыто заявить – «У нас все действительно очень плохо». В конце июня испанцы официально обратились к Евросоюзу с просьбой спасти утопающих. Но чем это обернется?


ФИНАНСЫ
Ложь, наглая ложь и Libor

Скандал, разразившийся вокруг махинаций с Libor, показал, что в нынешнем виде эта ставка не может служить мерилом для определения стоимости денег на глобальных рынках.


ИНВЕСТИЦИИ
Дело за отменой поправки

В прошлом году товарооборот между США и Россией достиг исторического рекорда в $43 миллиарда. Но даже при таких показателях Россия пока не входит в первую двадцатку торговых партнеров США. Вступление России в ВТО и отмена поправки Джексона – Вэника кардинально изменят ситуацию.


НЕДВИЖИМОСТЬ
Дом на шатком фундаменте

Американский рынок жилья начинает оправляться после пятилетнего коллапса. Восстановление остается хрупким и неустойчивым, а темпы его будут, скорее всего, очень медленными.


ТОРГОВЛЯ
«Цена – не единственный драйвер индустрии»

Совладелец российской компании Enter, президент национальной Ассоциации компаний интернет-торговли (АКИТ) Сергей Румянцев рассказывает корреспонденту WEJ, почему инвесторам не нужно бояться вкладывать в российские интернет-магазины.


ВОСТОЧНОЕ НАПРАВЛЕНИЕ
Московское время

Чтобы успешно вести бизнес в России, иностранная компания должна учитывать много местных особенностей. О фантастическом метро и значении времени в российской столице WEJ рассказал вице-президент «Промсвязьбанка» и вице-президент CFA в России Нил Визерс.


СМЕНА ОБСТАНОВКИ
«После первого путешествия мы решили сделать бизнес на другом увлечении»

Дмитрий Архипов, руководитель одной из лидирующих софтверных компаний России, рассказывает о своей любви к туристическим походам, о том, как фотография становится настоящим творчеством, и как путешествия помогают оценить человека.


ЖИЗНЕННОЕ ПРОСТРАНСТВО
Барское дело

Стать владельцем старинной усадьбы, которая принадлежала славной фамилии российской Империи, не так сложно. Надо запастись терпением и деньгами. Основные расходы придутся на реставрацию, и тут легче всего сойти с дистанции.


МОТОР
Князи в грязи

«Джипы», в отрочестве машины солдат и фермеров, давно уже перестали служить фронту и пахоте, превратившись в дорогостоящую игрушку «настоящих мужчин». Они становятся все роскошнее и роскошнее.

Announcements / Category: 2012


September




Available on the AppStore

The Main Topics of the September Issue of the World Economic Journal:

AFFAIRS
One Big Syrian Game

The toll has been high – three resolutions, which Russia and China have blocked at the UN Security Council, 17 packages of sanctions that the European Union has imposed on the city of Damascus, and 19 thousand casualties. And at this point, no one can predict which direction the Syrian opposition will move in next, but experts are doing their best.


The price of War

After more than one and a half years of confrontation and thousands of casualties, Syria, as well as many other countries involved in the confrontation, is at an impasse, both abroad and within their own country, and it is unlikely that a solution will be found any time soon.


TRENDS
A Second Childhood

The children’s product market in countries with rapidly growing economies is essentially the only sector that isn’t hugely affected by the global economic crisis. And in a few years, the market’s worth could reach hundreds of billions of dollars in total.


SOCIETY
The Weakest Link

The deepening economic crisis has many negative effects, one of which is the spread of a new kind of gender discrimination. Employers comply with all the equal rights laws created for women, but in reality, they try to get rid of the "weaker sex" by specifically designing intolerable working conditions.


OPPORTUNITIES
The Yuan Aims to Become a Reserve Currency

Just two to three years ago, experts unanimously agreed that the possibility of the Chinese yuan becoming a reserve currency was an event that would only happen in the distant future, if at all. But the efforts that Beijing has put forth in this regard may mean that the distant future is coming up very quickly.


THREATS
Waiting for the Decuman Wave

Even the Russian economy is weak, it remains stable for now – the only way that the global financial crisis is affecting it is from "outside shock".


THE CONTINENT
Europe Throws Spanish Banks a Lifeline

It took six months for the newly elected Spanish government to finally accept the obvious and openly admit that their country is in "really bad shape". In late June, the Spanish government turned to the European Union with an official request for help. Will the EU be able to save Spain from drowning in debt? And what lies in store for them?


FINANCE
The Lies Surrounding the Libor Rates

The recent Libor scandal, which revealed that the British rates had been tampered with, showed that present exchange rates could not be trusted in determining the value of money in the global market.


INVESTMENT
Breaking the Barrier

Last year, the volume of trade between the USA and Russia reached a historic level of $43 billion. Even with these astonishing figures, Russia still isn’t one of America’s top twenty trading partners – but Russia’s accession to the WTO and the abolition of the Jackson-Vanik amendment will radically change those numbers.


REAL ESTATE
Unsteady Territory

The U.S. housing market is beginning to recover after 5 years of collapse. But the market’s recovery is still very fragile and unstable, and its growth rate will most likely grow very slowly.


CONSUMERISM
“Price Isn’t the Only Factor Driving the Industry”

Sergei Rumyantsev, the co-owner of the Russian company “Enter” and the president of the National Association of E-Commerce Companies (AKIT), spoke with reporters from the World Economic Journal about why investors should not be afraid to invest in Russian Internet companies.


EAST SIDE
Moscow Time

To successfully do business in Russia, foreign companies need to take a number of cultural differences into account. Neil Withers, the Vice President of Promsvyazbank and the Vice President of CFA in Russia, talked to the WEJ about the fabulous Moscow subway and the value of time in the Russian capital.


CHANGING PLACES
“fter First Trip, We Decided to Start Business With a Different Hobby”

Dmitry Arkhipov, who is the head of a leading game software company in Russia, discusses his love of hiking, his opinions on creative photography, and how journeys help reveal a person’s true colors.


LIVING SPACE
How To Be a Russian Landlord

Today, becoming the owner of one of the historic estates that once belonged to the noble families of imperial Russia is not difficult, with a little patience and a lot of money. Most of the costs involved in such a purchase, surprisingly, come from the restoration of a property, rather than the property itself.


MOTOR
Riches in the Mud

SUVs were originally designed to be used by soldiers and farmers, but it has been a long time since they were used for any farming or military purposes. Now, these large cars have become the playthings of so-called "real men". Modern SUVs are becoming more and more luxurious.